FULL CIRCLE

There comes a time in one’s life that you question what your life’s purpose is. Some would call it a life crisis, an intense yearning for something more. The past six months I’ve experience great changes in my professional life that has led me on a path of new discoveries. This past November I left my job of eleven years as a special education paraprofessional to take a leap of faith to work in a whole new setting, as preschool teacher in a well-known daycare. It was my hope not to just better myself but give my family a better financial future working a year around job.

ODWHTY SNL

Few weeks into this job, I soon discovered that it was not for me. Corporate run childcare, wow what was I thinking?  I longed to be the children I educated and cared for, I missed their unique style of language and expressions highlighted for their achievements of their goals. I found myself on my days off, volunteering in the special education class of my previous post. I felt like I was at home, a new perspective, about a position I once held confirmed what has always been a huge part of my life. My purpose, to glorify God it is not about money it is about what I can do for those in need. Princess Diana once said, “Only do what your heart tells you.”  I agree.

In the days following of the revelation, a sense of dread swallowed me, volunteering to work with sped students added to the feeling of being trapped in my current position. My passion inside that I once felt at its full intensity, now had been snuffed out suffocating my sense of purpose. It was evident that I needed to fix my current situation and make it right with the universe.  I really did not know what was going to happen next, but I knew I needed to go back to the position I once held for more than a decade. As my anxiety arose on a cold winter’s day as I head into the director’s office and handed her my resignation. At that moment, my heart-felt warm and I knew a new journey was on my horizon.

What was the new journey?  At first I thought about going back to school for teaching, but found out that boat had sailed even though I received news of acceptance to the Para to Sped program at a state university. Feeling no regrets in turning it down as I felt an immense relief because I could not in good conscience put my family’s financial future at risk so I could accumulate debt in my mid-forties.  Not to mention I have a teen daughter and in two years would be off to Art College to realize her dream of an author / illustrator.

Finally, the circle is almost complete, securing my substitute position with various districts I now know what I really want to do.  I love the flexibility of subbing, able to explore different positions while practicing the virtue of patience letting my destiny be revealed.  In the meantime I plan on spending time with inspiring students, colleagues, bloggers, friends, and family. And who knows maybe I am meant to be a writer after all, sharing inspirational stories with readers like you.  If anything is learned from such an experience is to live in the present, let your destiny complete your circle.

Happy Blogging,

Allie

Full Circle

One thought on “Full Circle

  1. Pingback: Full Circle | thecompass

Leave a Reply

