A House Hunter’s Reality…

Source: Clker

“My wish list is,” Says a niave newly married wife to seasoned real estate agent. “ A two story home on land with five bedrooms and three bath rooms and a gourmet kitchen with stainless steel appliances and granite counter tops for baking.”

The real estate agent keeps cool and collected, but thinking “A Property Virgin this should be fun!”

“A finished basement with its own bathroom, at least two-car garages,” the husband replies. “It has to be close to town and short commute to work! I am concern about budget, I don’t want to go over it and it can’t be a short sale.”

By the end of the HGTV’s reality show, the pair begins to rationalize the decision to forgo the original budget and instead choose to take a higher mortgage. Living in the now and not the future, the biggest error one young couple could make could cost them their happiness in the future. Now they have signed up for 30 years of slavery to a banking institution who sees them as a number and not a human being.

Like most mortgagee’s, the couple’s livelihood could be challenge by a bit of bad luck if either the husband or wife should suffer a life changing illness like a car accident or perhaps loose a job. This scenario can happen more times than not, and that is why I wonder why the reality show as I described above does not deal with that type of reality.

Pondering over that dilemma, the past several days has left me with a lot to think about in my own life and the decisions that my husband and I made when we first bought our home over a decade ago. Several issues sprung up in my head, we were very naïve, for instance living beyond our means. Moreover, we wanted a second garage for my husband’s race car and to finance that project we took out a second loan. Ironically, no one was there to warn us that we set ourselves up for failure; in comparison to the reality show of the naïve couple, the same is true.

SO what is the point that I am trying to make you ask? Well there are several points, as consumers we should be advocates for ourselves and get educated on finances for the “what if’s” scenarios. Secondly, always follow your intuition, remember the husband did not want to go over budget but his heart led him on the wrong path of higher debt. Lastly, a home is where the heart is, without your love ones and sanity it just becomes your prison. In my own life, I have been the naïve one, now I want to be the smart one and share with others our story so that they do not make the same mistakes my husband and I made.

The home of today is full of material things, whatever happened to the simple home with basic things to keep the home fires burning? Should we look to the older generations for guidance when it comes to living a simpler life? In my opinion, less is more!

9 thoughts on “A House Hunter’s Reality…

  1. You make some very salient points. It seems like the purpose of the home has changed from a place to pay off as soon as possible and to spend the next 50 years, to a place where you take out a larger debt than you can possibly afford because you do not plan on staying there for more than five years and a profit will be made when it sells.

  2. Totally agree. We’ve bought and sold homes several times, and we are now happily renting with no stress. I have a very different perspective on home ownership now- and the reality is that most people don’t “own” their homes, the banks do. We’re now focused on paying off all our debt and truly living within our means, which means living simply of course!

  3. If you’re going to be paying a mortgage for five years until you sell the place to buy a new one, you may as well just rent–plus when you rent, the landlords take care of problems with the property for you! I’m in no hurry to buy a home, myself, and I think a lot of young people are of a similar mind. I have one friend looking at buying a home out of all of the people I know, and she’s only doing it because she’s already married with a young family and she’s established in the community they want to buy in.

  4. Very well said. As a former home builder I would repeatedly work with folks wanting their “dream home”. I would watch couples young and old over extend themselves….they did not want to hear my cautionary concern. During the recession I watched several of these homes go into foreclosure…..no surprise to me, but broke my heart non the less. Today, I harp on my grown children about not going deep into debt. Home is where the heart is, whether its 500 square feet or 5,000!

    • Thank you so much for weighing in on this issue, I feel so passionate about informing other’s of the danger they put themselves in when they are dealing with a big decision to buy a home. In fact I plan on doing AN Independent Voice Piece on this topic very soon, perhaps you let me interview you?Thanks so much! ~Allie

Leave a Reply

