Wondrous Wednesdays: The Power of Music

One day last week while driving with my thirteen year old daughter, Becca listening to her favorite music station an iconic song came on air,”Don’t You (forget about me) by Simple Minds. My daughter turned to me and said, “I love Pitch Perfect!” I just had to laugh because this song’s original home belonged to soundtrack of the “The Breakfast Club” as the song lingered in my ears and the bittersweet lyrics brought back the most tremulous and significant time in my life as a young preteen. I remember when I had had my first ‘schoolgirl’ crush and a fantasy that the boy would notice me just as Emilio Estevez’s character a jock, Andrew Clark noticed the outcast Allison Reynolds played by Ally Sheedy. An as the words of the infamous song, “Don’t you….will call my name…” I always wondered if the movie had continued, the next day or weeks to come would Allison be lucky enough, Andrew would call to her. On the other hand, would she just have been a victim of a walk by?

Suddenly it downed on me, this infamous song has stood the test of time bringing together generations and the significant understanding between these different generations. So in the future, every time I hear the melody I think of what was then and now. Now, my sweet Becca already reached a milestone, her teen years with many adventures to come, her first dance, her first love, high school graduation and the list goes on! I take great comfort in the fact that I too have experience these moments and those we can connect on a level that is more than a parent but her friend.

Therefore, in that moment of time, I will remember Becca beaming with her head bobbing back and forth, as she mimics the words, “Don’t you… forget about me!” I will smile remembering the feeling of gratitude and savor the moment thinking to myself, “The Power of Music!”

Don’t You (Forget about Me)

Happy Blogging!

Leave a Reply

