Staying on Track: Homemade Cleaners

It is essential that my family stay on a budget by buying smart and affordable groceries. I have always wanted to go green not only is it wonderful for our environment it is great for the pocket book. With the decision made, I started to get rid of all of cleaners that pose a risk. What I found alarming, we never use most of these cleaners, and I could only assume that they were a significant cost to our budget. According to Huffington Post, “In 2011, the website Statistic Brain compiled census data and found that the average American spent $42 on cleaning supplies every month.” (Colley, S. 1) Proof of such fact, at the end of the day, I had thrown away two big grocery bags that contained specific cleaners such as kitchen and bath, as well as dusting and window cleaners. With my plan set in motion, to be green the next step was to start using these homemade cleaners.

With recipes in tow, I headed to the store and bought the basic ingredients excluding the ones I already had such as vinegar, baking soda, essential oils and lemon juice. My bill for the ingredients I needed came to $15.96, items in my bag included Borax, washing soda, detergent bar and non-related items for baking. Below are some simple formulas and their purpose labeled.

All Purpose Cleaners

All Purpose Cleaner:
Clear Spray bottle 6 oz
6 oz Distilled or Filtered Water Warm
20 drops of Thieves or Lemon Juice
Anti-Bacterial Cleaner:
Solid Color Spray Bottle 6 or 8 oz
50/50 Solution of Vinegar and Hydrogen Peroxide
Homemade Detergent

Mason Quart Jar to House Detergent
1 Cup of Borax
1 Cup of Washing Soda
½ Detergent Bar finely grated
20 to 25 drops of Eucalyptus Essential Oil (Optional)
Makes enough for 30 to 50 loads depending on kind of washer HE front loader or top loading use 1 ½ to 2 Tbsp Per Load

*** I use dryer balls instead of softener. Also to make the solutions it can take anywhere from 20 to 60 minutes, but time well spent.

I use these cleaners along side with other products like Norwex’s anti-bac cloths (already purchased) for dusting and window cleaning as well as Mrs. Meyer’s Clean Day dish & hand soap, and Mrs. Meyer’s Clean Day toilet bowl cleaner because it is environmentally friendly and manufacture locally in Minneapolis. (Mrs. Meyer’s Clean Day will be the featured product American Made, July 2013).

To sum up, I take pride in my green homemade products to know that I am setting an example for my daughter, Becca. In addition, to know that there are no more harsh chemicals in my home that will surely help my Becca with her chronic lung disease not to breathe in the harsh fumes or odors. In addition, now she can help her mom clean the house, is a huge benefit!

Happy Blogging,
A.Zych

Sources:
1. Colley, Angela. 13 July 2012. “How to Save on Household Cleaning Supplies.” The Huffington Post at http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/07/13/how-to-save-on-household-cleaning-supplies_n_1671429.html

15 thoughts on “Staying on Track: Homemade Cleaners

  1. Reblogged this on Tiny House, Big World and commented:
    As an Rv’er, and a person passionate about living a simple, organic lifestyle, I just had to reblog this post by “Simple Northern Life” on homemade cleaners. You need creative ways to stay clean being on the road/living in the woods. Thanks for the recipe!

  2. I’ve been making my own laundry soap the same way for a couple years now. I love it! I’m now in the process of infusing vinegar in the mason jars with orange peels and then another with mint from my yard. Ya gotta love vinegar!

      • I make a simple sugar scrub. Two parts sugar to one part extra light virgin olive oil or grape seed oil. I add lavender. The grape seed oil gives it a beautiful color. It’s great for your face or body. You can add whatever essential oil you want for the smell.

      • I’ve made stick deodorant also, with baking soda, coconut oil and tea tree oil. I just use an empty deodorant, mix the ingredients and shove it in the container. Gotta store it in a cool place though because of the coconut oil and lay low on the tea tree. Not sure of the ratio off hand but I just found it one day researching all homemade stuff. I get on kicks like that. Ha!

  3. I used to buy lots of cleaners, too and would end up with a bunch of half-used bottles cluttering the cabinet under the kitchen sink. Most often, I just use a simple bleach and water solution. I’ve never made my own laundry detergent, though. I might have to try that one.

  4. Pingback: American Made: Mrs. Meyer’s Clean Day | Simple Northern Life

  5. Hey Allie, I’m so glad you commented on my blog and I was able to find you! I’ve been making my own homemade cleaners for a while now and I’m so happy I’ve made the change. You may want to check out this blog post for a shower and tub cleaner and a granite cleaner (vinegar is not safe for precious stone as it eats away at it) I was using a similar all purpose cleaner on my tub but it just wasn’t getting the job done. This more concentrated version works great!

    http://www.ecochicbabyandhome.com/2/post/2013/06/the-only-homemade-cleaners-youll-ever-need.html

    • Thank you so much, I will make sure that I check out the post on tub and shower cleaner. We are moving and next week I am going to clean our new place so this is perfect timing. Thank you for stopping by my site and my gratitude is yours. Allie.

Leave a Reply

