Behavior is everything when dealing with personal finances…

Authored by A.Zych

This past week I submersed myself in knowledge by re-reading a book given to me by my mother-in-law a few years ago called “The Total Money Make Over” authored by Dave Ramsey.  This is a great book and I highly recommend it! After finishing the book in less than three days what remain clear to me; we as a couple needed to re-define our roles in relation our finances. To sum it up, we needed to grow up.

Changing our behavior when it comes to budgeting and saving money for the future will be essential to my family’s quest to become debt free and live a simple life. In fact Dave Ramsey says it best, “Winning at money is 80 percent behavior and 20 percent head knowledge.”   In the past my husband and I relied on his mother to do our bills since she lived with us but this quickly backed fired when she moved out two years ago!

So after a long discussion and determining our unique strengths as well as our weaknesses my husband and I with assigned roles decided to write on paper our short and long term goals. It was liberating to know that we no longer will let our money control us instead we will have control of it!

The first action to be taken assigned to me, get organized. This was time consuming with bills scattered all over the house from downstairs to the kitchen it was no wonder that I missed paying our car insurance last month! Thank God, we have a good insurance agency they were able to reinstate our policy.

The result was a nice clean bill center in my kitchen that now houses my monthly bills and a file cabinet for other important documents. Also, a written scheduled of bills organized by color in three categories: priority, secondary and non-essential. We also decided to adopt the practice of the envelope system that Ramsey suggested to help organize our weekly cash budget for groceries, gas and emergencies.

To sum up the major hurdle for us will be modifying our behavior when it comes to reckless spending to help with this new way of thinking with regards to spending we must ask ourselves, do I want it or do I need it?

Leave a Reply

